Un-Namer

Shame says God’s promises are lies and obscures the truth of our past. It is ruthless in its attempts to un-name us. It robs us of our true-self identity in Christ. It makes us believe lies about ourselves, others, and God. It un-names us in the present by throwing our past into our faces in a way that makes us doubt God’s promises for the the future. And in doing so, un-names God in our minds because we are then believing things contrary to His revealed character. God says we are His children, dearly loved, co-creators, co-heirs with Christ, and ambassadors. He says we are chosen and calls us worthy and righteous in Him.

Then shame comes in and says: Is that really true though? How can that be true when you did this or that? Or when those people said this about you? You are stupid and a burden and in the way. You’re not worth saving. You’re not worth anything. You are so corrupt. How could anyone love you like that, let alone God? God’s love must be a lie.

So, shame drags me down into the pit. Sometimes, I follow it willingly. God will lift us out. But, I’m learning that– like so many things– the journey out of the pit is a process. For me, the first step has been to even see the pit I am in and how I have let it define me. I am seeing the muck of the pit for the lies that it is. But just because the pit is formed by lies doesn’t mean that it isn’t real and that the consequences of living in the pit haven’t left real wounds.

But God is bringing me out little by little. He shines light on the muck of the walls, revealing the lies that had built up the pit in the first place. And as He speaks and reveals the truth to replace the lies of shame, those truths become footholds so I can climb further up and out of the pit. God names the lies and re-names me in truth to replace it. Of course, it takes me a little while (or long while) for me to put all my weight on that new foothold. Since the pit has been my reality for so long, I never believe the truth right away. The transition from lies to truth and from shame to hope is slow. The work and pain of the climb doesn’t always feel worth it. God says it is worth it. He still goes out of His way to re-name me. That is a truth I am still working to put my full weight on.

Leave a comment