Empathy

Empathy is something I firmly believe in. But it is also a mystery to me. Something scary and big. It challenges all of my defenses, all of those fortresses that I’ve worked so hard to build in order to protect myself from hurt. (Not to mention the deep-trench moat stocked full of megalodon sharks and electric eels. And the hundred archers stationed on the parapets.)

But God.

God has been challenging me for years to let Him tear down those walls, daring me to feel. Daring me to be brave enough to really be touched by other people’s struggles. Because they are so similar to my own. (Honestly, I struggle like it’s my hobby.) And God has made it clear that He has made me with a deep well of emotion and equipped me with the superpower of empathy. I just need to learn how to use it. I’ve torn down a few defenses. Called off most of the archers. Only a few more fortress walls left now (and maybe the moat).

Brené Brown on Empathy

(Brené Brown is brilliant. Highly recommend her books and ted talk.)

One thought on “Empathy

  1. So true! It’s so difficult sometimes to allow God to break down the walls that We’re constantly trying to build around our heart to protect ourselves. And then trust God for our heart protection. It is a real struggle.

Leave a comment